A plateful of vegetables!

The end of the school year is coming.  The mission has become to eat all the vegetables before I go away for the summer.

20170613_193602

Pumpkin baked in cayenne, cumin, turmeric, and black pepper.  Chinese cabbage chopped and tossed in a hot pan with the lid on for a quick minute to lightly cook it.  Steamed beats, sliced avocado, and garbanzo beans.

Was this ever a filling meal.  There was more pumpkin, I steamed the rest and ate a good bit of that while waiting for the baked one to finish cooking.  Same with the Chinese cabbage.  What’s on the plate is a little less than half of what I cooked.  I ate a bunch while waiting.  It was delicious.

I finally bought Oh She Glows cookbook on my Kindle.  The garbanzo beans are her salt and vinegar garbanzos.  Easy to make.  I had some pre-cooked in a box in the fridge.  Just covered them in vinegar with a dash of salt and brought it to a boil, turned off the heat, covered, and let it sit for 30 minutes.  Drained them and placed them in a baking pan drizzled a very little bit of olive oil and sprinkle of salt.  Baked for about 20 minutes and then tossed them about a bit and baked a little longer until they seemed ready.  Fun to try new things.  I’ve never had baked or roasted garbanzo beans before.  They are good.  I prefer them normal, though, just boiled and added into salads, soups, or entrees.  They are just drier when baked (of course) and their flavor is lost.  Still, they do taste salt and vinegar-y so in that sense I think the recipe is a success.  I’ll eat them.

Leave a Reply

